Bridal Shower!

We are currently counting down days, not weeks, until my baby sister gets married.  This weekend, I hosted her bridal shower in my home, which was a welcomed distraction to take my mind off of IVF and put my energy into something enjoyable.  I really enjoy planning and hosting, but my sweet husband in an effort to reduce my stress, hired a cleaning lady the day before, who proceeded to ask us if we were house poor…I mean WTF!!!! Clearly, she has never paid for IVF!  A new first for me in life, being judged by the cleaning lady.  We have laughed about this all weekend.  Anyways, enough rambling and bring on the photos!

For decor, I kept things very simple with lots and lots of greenery and flowers.  I actually bought all the florals at Kroger and most of the roses were from the clearance bin, so they cost me between $6-$8 per dozen.  Not bad if you ask me.  The greenery was $4-$5 per bunch.  I used 6 bunches of greenery and 4 dozen roses.   I had made my arrangements and garland for the fireplace, which took me about 40 minutes. This is one of my favorite go tos for showers. I had countless people ask me if it was real and where I bought it…success!

imageimageimageimage

Vase old (similar here), Sofa , Kitchen Chairs , Kitchen Table

For drinks, we kept things simple.  I cut up fresh mint and cucumbers and froze them into giant cubed ice cubes, to put into a dispenser for infused water.  Then I made a batch of white virgin sangria. I’ll post the recipe another time, but it looks and tastes amazing.  For a kick you just add white wine to spice it up!  I displayed these in the kitchen to keep the sticky secluded to one area.  🙂

imageimageimage

Cocktail Shaker , Bar Tools , Drink Stands , Drink Dispenser

For the menu my plan was to keep it light to avoid having to provide a full meal.  We had a cheese and fruit tray, lemon and fruit tarts, blueberry infused goat cheese tarts, watermelon and feta skewers and mini caprese salad skewers.  Instead of volume , I focused more on the presentation.  I ran butcher paper down our dining room table with the intentions to creatively write around the serving pieces what was on them, but…ran out of time.  I always need like 45 more minutes then I think I do.

imageimageimage

imageCheese Knives , Wood Platter , Flatware , Plates , Table ,

I am a firm believer that details are so super important with these types of gatherings.  I wanted to really focus on all senses so created a playlist of sweet love songs, that were covered by unknown artists and instead of playing them through an iPad or speakers, I purchased this gramophone, which made the sound so full and kind of vintage in sound (not sure if it makes sense), but I would HIGHLY recommend this product before it sells out!  I also picked up a handful of these candles from Anthropologie.  Marcy loves the smell and they tied in with the copper accents.  I LOVE them!!!

imageimageimageimage

Maxi Dress

The day was so fun and my heart is so full watching my baby sister on her journey of love to become Mrs. Douglass!

#DefinitelyDouglass

Leave a Reply

