My First Infertility Melt Down

We had our second appointment with the Reproductive Endrocinologist last Friday for the dreaded HSG test.  For those of you who are not familiar, this is a test where dye is inserted into your uterus and pumped into your Fallopian tubes, followed by a series of X Rays, to insure your tubes are open and the sperm can reach the egg.  As with most things, I like to feel well prepared in  advance, so I did the absolute worse thing I could do…I googled it!  I can’t even describe to you the horrific stories and experiences I read about!!!

Needless to say, when I arrived at the doctor’s offices I was a nervous wreck. The nurse tried to comfort me and Eric worked his best to provide support.  When Dr. Kevin arrived to preform the procedure, he also provided me a needed lecture on why I should not be reading online and then got right to it.  I literally felt the tiniest pinch of the needle numbing my cervix, which felt more like a mosquito bite and nothing else.  I braced myself for the dye, but when I asked him how long it would take, he slid his chair out and said he was finished.  Literally I felt NOTHING!!!

image.jpg

So for all you ladies, prepping for this test and scouring the web for more info about the HSG test …here it is, take aways from my HSG experience. 1) My tubes are 100% clear. 2)A good doctor is worth every penny.  3) Surrender your iPad to your husband before any future medical procedures!!!

 

Leave a Reply

