Wedding Shower with a TWIST

My youngest sister will getting married in a few short months, and therefore I will be hosting her shower at my home.  I am beyond excited for her and her darling finance, but also to be able to host a shower that moves away from traditional pink and mimosas.  Instead, I plan to host an adults only, evening shower with a more elegant and earthy tone.  I often refer to my sister as  our “little hippie” and want to keep everything aligned to her taste.  Below are my inspiration photos for the feel I want.

Photos via Pintrest

My plan is to stay neutral, combining earthy touches with modern shapes including soft linens, geometric shapes, brass and copper accents and a ton of greenery, most likely succulents, mint and magnolia. Plus can you imagine the smell of our home? Be still my heart!!! For the menu, I am thinking organic cheeses, fruits, hummus, etc.  I want everything very simple and bite sized, arranged on platforms and trunks the spread throughout the house.  And of course wine; also, spritzers  and earth toned drinks like this crisp cocktail or this pretty gimlet .

Anyways, I have started collecting ideas and putting together a purchase list to keep things under control budget wise, so it does not hit all at once and Mr. Holt is not overwhelmed.  Here is what I have to date on the “to buy” list..

Brass & Glass Planters , Serving Platter , Copper Mug , Gold Planters

I also found these invitations which I asked to be recreated into a shower invitation, and the artist was more than helpful and willing.  I cannot wait for them to arrive.

image

Any ideas out there?  I am always looking for fresh inspiration!

Leave a Reply

