Christmas Round 1, 2 & 3

Christmas every year is quite the production in the Holt house.  We are finding a balance between fulfilling family obligations and just enjoying ourselves and finding a way to make holidays suit us.  This is HUGE, it has taken almost a decade.  Anyways, we did the immediate family Christmas with my parents on Dec. 21st with a low key dinner, gifts and football game (aka us ladies caught up on all the family gossip).

image image

We followed this with our personal Christmas on the 22nd, where we are all kind of junk food, watched movies just the row of us and exchanged our gifts.  We have learned not to do this with our families.  I got Eric the new iPad.  We are now proudly a 2 iPad home.  He got me a new bike helmet (2015 goal is to start cycling), Kate Spade glitter Keds and an outing to the Nutcracker Ballet, which I might add is one of my most favorite gifts EVER!  I am starting to like experience gifts more than thing gifts.

image

On the 23rd we left for TN, me Eric and Jodee ( my 23 year old sister) ….in the Prius…tight for luggage space to say the least.  Poor Eric endured 15 hours of driving, many Starbucks trips and scouting ” clean potties” as well as being fully versed on all that is Taylor Swift. Bless his heart, he is a saint!!! We spent a few days in the smokey mountains with my mom’s extended family.  This made me super baby happy.  All my cousins have little mini ones running around.  It was great to see my grandparents and spend time with family.  We see them about every 2-3 years….so next time hoping to have a mini of our own. And yes, I did not plan and wore the same shirt on both Christmases 😦 .

image

image image

All that to say, we have 1 more Christmas to go with my husband’s parents….then NYE!!!  I have already started putting thought into my goals (I prefer goals v. resolutions…seems it is a healthier equation for success in achieving them).  I love fresh beginnings and am really looking forward to an eventful 2015!

Leave a Reply

