DIY: Chalkboard

 

image

So, I see everyone has chalkboard art these days and I am all about it.  I have some chalkboard labels and a chalkboard globe in our apartment currently.  Once we have moved to a home, I will locate a victim for a Chalkboard wall ( poor mr. Holt).  But currently, I wanted a bigger space to doodle.  I looked online and in stores, I wanted something with clean edges and I kept finding very ornate framed boards, so I decided this was a perfect DIY candidate.  This cost me $17.  I bought a RIBBA frame from IKEA and I already had this black chalkboard paint from a few months back.  I simply painted the chalkboard paint onto the glass and then reframed.  It took about 3 coats, otherwise the beige walls would show thru in the light, but I am pleased with how it turned out and it is rather large, so plenty of doodle space.

 

Leave a Reply

